Free US Shipping on Most Orders Over $99 * - Learn More »

ORDERS SHIP NEXT BUSINESS DAY*

60 days return period - Learn more

SUMMER KICK-OFF CLEARANCE SALE

Save up to 55% off popular gear!

Where Are Life Jackets Required? PFD Laws By State [2024]

Where Are Life Jackets Required? PFD Laws By State [2024]

When we covered types of life jackets and their ratings, we made the important distinction between competition vests and Coast Guard-approved (CGA) life jackets. And this distinction is important: CGA life jackets are legally required to be worn by most people on virtually every body of water in the U.S. 

Life Jacket Laws by State

Some states have more specific laws about when and where you need to wear a life jacket (such as riding towed tubes, or kayaking). Here's a state-by-state breakdown.

Alabama Hawaii Massachusetts New Mexico South Dakota
Alaska Idaho Michigan New York Tennessee
Arizona Illinois Minnesota North Carolina Texas
Arkansas Indiana Mississippi North Dakota Utah
California Iowa Missouri Ohio Vermont
Colorado Kansas Montana Oklahoma Virginia
Connecticut Kentucky Nebraska Oregon Washington
Delaware Louisiana Nevada Pennsylvania West Virginia
Florida Maine New Hampshire Rhode Island Wisconsin
Georgia Maryland New Jersey South Carolina Wyoming

 

Alabama

According to the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency:

  • Everyone on board a vessel must have a life jacket available to them.
  • Anyone riding water skis, wakeboards, towed tubes, jet skis, or personal watercraft must wear a life jacket.
  • Anyone within 800 feet below a dam must wear a life jacket at all times.

Ages that must wear a jacket at all times: Age 8 and under.

Exceptions: Adults and children over the age of 8 do not need to wear a life jacket when in the enclosed cabin of a vessel.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, Types I, II, or III.

Alaska

According to the Alaska Department of Fish & Game:

  • Everyone on board a vessel must have a life jacket available to them.
  • Children age 13 and under must wear life jackets when on board open vessels at all times, and when riding water skis, wakeboards, towed tubes, and personal watercraft.

Ages that must wear a jacket at all times: Age 13 and under

Exceptions: When a child age 13 and under is not in an open boat, on an open deck, or not riding a personal watercraft, they are not required to wear a life jacket.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, Types I, II, III or IV. Type V ("special use" life jackets) are approved if the jacket is marked and rated for the specific water activity of the wearer.

Arizona

According to the Arizona Game & Fish Department:

  • All boaters must have life jackets available for every person on board a vessel that is underway.
  • Boaters who do not have enough jackets may visit life jacket loaner stations, available at popular lakes (Apache, Bartlett, Canyon, Havasu, Mohave, Pleasant, and Saguaro).

Ages that must wear a jacket at all times: Age 12 and under.

Exceptions: Life jackets do not need to be worn when a vessel is not underway.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, Types I, II, or III.

Arkansas

According to the Arkansas Game & Fish Commission:

  • All boaters must have one life jacket available for ever passenger on board.
  • Life jackets must be worn at all times when riding personal watercraft and when riding towed tubes, wakeboards, and water skis.

Ages that must wear a jacket at all times: Age 12 and under.

Exceptions: Life jackets do not need to be worn in the enclosed area of a houseboat or cruiser, or inside the area enclosed by railings on a barge, cruise, or houseboat, and when any vessel is not underway.

Approved life jackets: USCG-approved, type not specified.

California

According to the California Division of Boating & Waterways:

  • Every child under the age of 13 must wear a life jacket when aboard any moving recreational vessel of any length and type.
  • For vessels under 16 feet in length, and for canoes and kayaks of any length, everyone on board must wear a life jacket.
  • For any vessel 16 feet or longer, the above requirements apply and a life jacket must be immediately accessible to all persons on board the vessel.
  • Any vessel 16 feet or longer must also have a Type IV flotation device, such as a ring or cushion or buoy, on board.
  • Any person riding any personal watercraft or towed craft, such as water skis or a tube, must wear a life jacket.

Ages that must wear a jacket at all times: Age 12 and under.

Exceptions: Children ages 12 and under do not need to wear a life jacket when they're restrained by a hardness on a sailboat, inside an enclosed cabin of any vessel, or on a vessel engaged in an emergency rescue situation.

Anyone using an underwater maneuvering device, such as a device used for turning underwater and diving, is exempt from wearing a life jacket.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, Types I, II, III or V.

Colorado

According to the Colorado Division of Parks & Wildlife:

  • Every person on board a personal watercraft or towed craft of any kind must wear a life jacket.
  • Life jackets must be readily accessible to all people on board any vessel 16 feet in length or shorter, including all paddleboards, canoes, kayaks, and sailboards.
  • Vessels 16 feet in length and longer must have one life jacket available for all passengers, plus one immediately accessible Type IV (thrown) personal flotation device.

Ages that must wear a jacket at all times: Age 12 and under.

Exceptions: Children do not need to wear a life jacket when they are below deck or in an enclosed cabin on any vessel.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, Types I, II, III, and IV.

Connecticut

According to the CT Department of Energy & Environmental Protection:

  • Between October 1st and May 31st, all people on board any manually propelled vessel of any kind must wear a life jacket.
  • No operator or owner of such a vessel shall allow any person on board unless they are wearing a life jacket.

Ages that must wear a jacket at all times: Age 12 and under.

Exceptions: Children do not need to wear a life jacket when they are below deck or in an enclosed cabin on any vessel.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, Types I, II, III, or V.

Delaware

According to the DE Dept. of Natural Resources & Environmental Control:

  • Any person riding a personal watercraft must always wear a life jacket.
  • All other vessels must have one life jacket available for all passengers.
  • All vessels must have one Type IV (thrown) personal flotation device on board.
  • Every child age 12 and under must wear a life jacket at all times when on board a vessel.

Ages that must wear a jacket at all times: Age 12 and under.

Exceptions: Children do not need to wear a life jacket when they are below deck or in an enclosed cabin on any vessel.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, Types I, II, III, or V.

Florida

According to the Florida Fish & Wildlife Conservation commission:

  • All vessels are required to have a life jacket on board for all passengers.
  • Vessels 16 feet and longer must also have one Type IV (thrown) personal flotation device that is immediately available on board.
  • Children under the age of 6 must wear a Type I, II, or III life jacket on board any vessel under 26 feet in length while the vessel is underway.

Ages that must wear a jacket at all times: Under age 6.

Exceptions: None.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, Types I, II, or III.

Georgia

According to the Georgia Department of Natural Resources:

  • All vessels must be equipped with life jackets for all passengers.
  • Vessels 16 feet and longer must also have one Type IV (thrown) personal flotation device that is immediately accessible on board.
  • Children under age 13 must wear a life jacket on any vessel that is underway.
  • Life jackets must be worn by all passengers on board a vessel when navigating in an area marked as a "hazardous area."

Ages that must wear a jacket at all times: Age 12 and under.

Exceptions: Children do not need to wear a life jacket when they are below deck or in an enclosed cabin on any vessel.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, Types I, II, III, or V.

Hawaii

According to the Hawaii Division of Boating and Ocean Recreation:

  • Anyone operating any personal watercraft must wear a life jacket.
  • Anyone riding a towed craft of any kind, including tubes and water skis, must wear a life jacket.
  • All vessels must carry one life jacket for every passenger on board.
  • Only persons age 16 and older may wear an inflatable life jacket.
  • Children ages 13 and under must wear a life jacket when on board any vessel that is underway or when it is moored in a non-designated offshore mooring area.

Ages that must wear a jacket at all times: Age 13 and under.

Exceptions: Children do not need to wear a life jacket when they are below deck or in an enclosed cabin on any vessel.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, types not specified.

Idaho

According to the Idaho Department of Parks and Recreation:

  • All vessels must have one life jacket available for ever passenger on board.
  • Children ages 14 and under must wear a life jacket on board any boat 19 feet in length or shorter, whenever the vessel is under power or underway.
  • Children ages 14 and under must wear a life jacket when riding any personal watercraft and towed craft.
  • Vessels 16 feet in length and longer must also have one Type IV (thrown) personal flotation device that is immediately accessible on board.

Ages that must wear a jacket at all times: Age 14 and under.

Exceptions: None.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, types not specified.

Illinois

 According to the Illinois Department of Natural Resources:

  • Any person operating a personal watercraft or jet ski must wear a life jacket.
  • No person may operate any watercraft unless every person under the age of 13 aboard the vessel is wearing a USCG-approved life jacket.

Ages that must wear a jacket at all times: Age 12 and under.

Exceptions: When in an enclosed cabin, below top deck, or when the watercraft is anchored.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, types not specified.

Indiana

According to Indiana's State Legislature:

  • One USCG-approved life jacket of Types I, II, III, or V must be onboard any watercraft for each person onboard. This includes towed craft, like tubes and skis.
  • Boats 16 feet or longer, excluding canoes and kayaks, must have one throwable (Type IV) flotation device onboard.

Ages that must wear a jacket at all times: Age 12 and under.

Exceptions: When in an enclosed cabin, below top deck, or when the watercraft is anchored.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, Types I, II, III or V.

Maine

According to Maine State Law (Title 12 Section 13068-A):

  • Any person riding any watercraft must wear a USCG-approved life jacket.
  • This includes canoes, kayaks, and standup paddleboards.
  • This includes towed craft, like water skis, wakeboards, and tubes.
  • Any vessel 16 feet or longer must have a Type IV (throwable) flotation device onboard.
  • Children 10 and under must wear a life jacket at all times, when riding any watercraft.

Ages that must wear a jacket at all times: Age 10 and under.

Exceptions: When in an enclosed cabin, below top deck, or when riding a towed craft with a solid or mesh bottom.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, Types I, II, or III.

Maryland

 According to the Maryland Department of Natural Resources:

  •  Any person operating a recreational vessel must wear a USCG-approved life jacket while underway.
  • Recreational vessels include motorboats, sailbots, canoes, kayaks, rowboats, and any other device capable of being used for transportation on the water.
  • Children under the age of 13 must wear a life jacket at all times, when onboard any vessel under 21 feet in length.

Ages that must wear a jacket at all times: Age 13 and under.

Exceptions: When in an enclosed cabin, below top deck, or when the vessel is moored or anchored.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, Types I, II, III or V.

Massachusetts

According to the Massachusetts Division of Fisheries and Wildlife:

  • Canoeists and kayakers must wear a life jacket between September 15 and May 15.
  • Anyone operating a personal watercraft must wear a life jacket.
  • Waterskiers, tubers, and towed riders must wear a life jacket.
  • Children under the age of 12 must wear a life jacket at all times, on any vessel.

Ages that must wear a jacket at all times: Age 12 and under.

Exceptions: When in an enclosed cabin or below deck.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, Types I, II, III or V.

Michigan

According to the Michigan Department of Natural Resources:

  • All vessels must be equipped with a life jacket for every person onboard.
  • All persons being towed on any kind of watercraft must wear a life jacket.
  • A vessels 16 feet or longer must have either a Type I, II, or III life jacket onboard for every passenger, or a throwable (Type IV) flotation device for every person onboard.
  • All life jackets must be USCG-approved.
  • Inflatable life jackets are not allowed on personal watercraft or towed craft.

Ages that must wear a jacket at all times: Age 6 and under.

Exceptions: When a child is below the deck of a vessel, they are not required to wear a life jacket.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, Types I, II, III or V.

Minnesota

According to the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources:

  • Any person operating a personal watercraft must wear a USCG-approved Type I, II, III or V life jacket.
  • A readily accessible and wearable life jacket is required for each person onboard any vessel, including stand up paddleboards, canoes, and kayaks.
  • Children under 10 years of age must always wear a life jacket.
  • One Type IV throwable flotation device is required on boats 16 feet or longer, except canoes and kayaks.

Ages that must wear a jacket at all times: Age 6 and under.

Exceptions: When a child is below the deck of a vessel, in an enclosed cabin, or when onboard a vessel operated by a licensed captain.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, Types I, II, III or V.

Mississippi

According to the Mississippi Department of Marine Resources:

  • All vessels must carry one USCG-approved life jacket for each person onboard.
  • Vessels 16 feet or longer must have one Type IV (throwable) flotation aid onboard and readily accessible.
  • Anyone 12 yars of age and younger must wear a life jacket whenever underway, in any vessel under 26 feet in length.
  • Anyone riding any towed watercraft must wear a life jacket.

Ages that must wear a jacket at all times: Age 12 and under.

Exceptions: When a child is below the deck of a vessel, in an enclosed cabin, or when onboard a vessel 26 feet or longer.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, Types I, II, or III.

Missouri

  • All personal watercraft users must wear a life jacket while underway.
  • This includes kayaks, canoes, and towed watercraft.
  • All children age 7 and under must wear a life jacket whenever they are onboard a vessel.

Ages that must wear a jacket at all times: Age 7 and under.

Exceptions: When a child is below the deck of a vessel, or in the cabin area of a houseboat or cruiser.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, Types I, II, III, or V.

Montana

 According to Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks Department:

  • All boats must have one USC-approved life jacket for each person onboard.
  • Boats 16 feet or longer, excluding canoes and kayaks, must have a Type IV (throwable) flotation aid onboard.
  • Any person riding any personal watercraft must wear a life jacket.
  • Any person riding any towed craft, including skis and tubes, must wear a life jacket.
  • Children under age 12 must wear a life jacket when onboard any vessel.

Ages that must wear a jacket at all times: Age 11 and under.

Exceptions: None.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, types not specified.

Nebraska

According to the Nebraska Game & Parks Department:

  • Any person riding a personal watercraft must wear a life jacket.
  • Any person riding a towed watercraft must wear a life jacket.
  • Every vessel, except sailboards, must carry a flotation device for each person onboard.
  • All children under age 13 must wear a life jacket when onboard any vessel.

Ages that must wear a jacket at all times: Age 13 and under.

Exceptions: When hunting waterfowl in an anchored boat.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, Types I, II, or III.

New Hampshire

 According to the New Hampshire Fish & Game Department:

  •  Every vessel must have one life jacket onboard for each passenger.
  • Children age 12 and under must wear a life jacket at all times onboard any vessel.

Ages that must wear a life jacket at all times: Age 12 and under.

Exceptions: When aboard boats, vessels, and ships with continuous side rails 3 feet or more in height enclosing the perimeter, and enclosed between the deck and top railing.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, types not specified.

New Jersey

 According to the New Jersey Fish & Wildlife Department:

  •  Between November 1st and May 1st, anyone operating any vessel under 26 feet in length, including rowboats, canoes, kayaks, and standup paddleboards, shall wear a USCG-approved life jacket.

Ages that must wear a life jacket at all times: Age 12 and under.

Exceptions: When aboard boats, vessels, and ships with continuous side rails 3 feet or more in height enclosing the perimeter, and enclosed between the deck and top railing.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, Types, I, II, III or V.

New Mexico

According to the New Mexico Natural Resources Department:

  • All vessels must have one life jacket onboard for each passenger.
  • All vessels except for personal watercraft, canoes, kayaks, paddleboards, and rubber rafts, must have one Type IV (throwable) flotation aid onboard.
  • Every person onboard any personal watercraft must wear a life jacket.
  • Every person onboard towed craft of any kind must wear a life jacket.
  • Children under the age of 13 must wear a life jacket when underway on any vessel.

Ages that must wear a life jacket at all times: Age 12 and under.

Exceptions: When below deck or in an enclosed cabin.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, Types, I, II, III or V.

New York

 According to New York's Department of Parks & Recreation:

  • Every recreational vessel, including canoes, kayaks, and rowboats, must have one USCG-approved life jacket onboard for each person.
  • Any person being towed behind a vessel aboard any craft must wear a life jacket.
  • Any person riding a personal watercraft must wear a life jacket.
  • Vessels 16 feet or longer must have a Type IV (throwable) flotation aid onboard.
  • Aboard vessels 65 feet or less, any child age 12 and under must wear a life jacket.

Ages that must wear a life jacket at all times: Age 12 and under.

Exceptions: When in an enclosed cabin.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, Types, I, II, III, or V.

North Carolina

 According to the North Carolina Wildlife & Resources Commission:

  • Any person riding a recreational vessel, including canoes, kayaks, rowboats, towed craft, and other non-motorized craft must wear a USCG-approved life jacket.
  • Children under the age of 13 must wear a life jacket on any vessel that is underway.

Ages that must wear a life jacket at all times: Age 12 and under.

Exceptions: When in an enclosed cabin. Sailboard, racing shell, rowing scull, racing canoe, and racing kayak riders are exempt from wearing life jackets.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, Types, I, II, or III.

North Dakota

 According to the North Dakota Department of Game & Fish:

  • All vessels must have one life jacket onboard for each passenger.
  • All personal watercraft riders must wear a life jacket.
  • Anyone riding a towed craft must wear a life jacket.
  • Children age 10 and under must wear a life jacket onboard any vessel under 27 feet in length at all times.

Ages that must wear a life jacket at all times: Age 10 and under.

Exceptions: None.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, Types, I, II, or III.

Oklahoma

 According to Oklahoma State Law (Sec. 300:35-5-3):

  • All vessels must have one life jacket onboard for each passenger.
  • Any person riding a personal watercraft or towed craft must wear a life jacket.
  • Children age 12 and under must wear a life jacket at all times when onboard a vessel under 26 feet in length.

Ages that must wear a life jacket at all times: Age 12 and under.

Exceptions: None.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, types not specified.

Oregon

 According to Oregon's State Marine Board:

  • Any person onboard any recreational vessel must wear a USCG-approved life jacket.
  • Any person rafting in Class III or higher whitewater rapids must wear a life jacket at all times.
  • Children age 12 and under must wear a life jacket whenever a vessel is underway.

Ages that must wear a life jacket at all times: Age 12 and under.

Exceptions: When in an enclosed cabin, or below deck.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, types not specified.

Pennsylvania

  •  Any person onboard any boat must wear a life jacket.
  • Between November 1 and April 30, any person onboard a boat under 16 feet, including any canoe, kayak, or paddleboard, must wear a life jacket.
  • Children age 12 and under must wear a life jacket onboard any vessel under 20 feet in length.
  • Anyone riding any towed craft or personal watercraft must wear a life jacket.

Ages that must wear a life jacket at all times: Age 12 and under.

Exceptions: None.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, types not specified.

Rhode Island

  •  All vessels must have one life jacket onboard for each passenger.
  • Vessels 16 feet and longer, except for canoes, kayaks, kiteboards, sailboards, and paddleboards, must have one Type IV (throwable) flotation aid onboard.
  • Children under age 13 must wear a life jacket while underway, onboard any vessel under 65 feet in length.

Ages that must wear a life jacket at all times: Age 12 and under.

Exceptions: When below deck or in an enclosed cabin.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, types not specified.

South Carolina

 According to the South Carolina Department of Natural Resources:

  • All boats must have a USCG-approved life jack onboard for each passenger.
  • All boats 16 feet or longer must have a Type IV (throwable) flotation aid onboard.
  • When onboard a "Class A" vessel (less than 16 feet in length), children under the age of 12 must wear a life jacket at all times.

Ages that must wear a life jacket at all times: Age 11 and under.

Exceptions: None.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, Types I, II, III, or V.

South Dakota

 According to the South Dakota Department of Game, Fish & Parks:

  •  All boats less than 16 feet long and all canoes, kayaks, and paddleboards must have a life jacket available for each person.
  • All other boats 16 feet or longer must also have a Type IV (throwable) flotation aid onboard.
  • Inflatable life jackets are not approved for use with towed watersports, personal watercraft, or children under the age of 16.
  • When traveling above no-wake speeds, children under the age of 7 must wear a life jacket onboard any vessel.

Ages that must wear a life jacket at all times: Age 6 and under.

Exceptions: When in the vessel's cabin or below deck.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, Types I, II, III, or V.

Tennessee

 According to the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency:

  • All vessels must have one life jacket onboard for each passenger.
  • Boats 16 feet or longer must have a Type IV (throwable) flotation aid onboard.
  • Children under the age of 12 must wear a life jacket while onboard any recreational boat.

Ages that must wear a life jacket at all times: Age 11 and under.

Exceptions: When in the vessel's cabin or below deck, or when the vessel is anchored or moored.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, Types I, II, III, or V.

Texas

 According to the Texas Parks & Wildlife Department:

  • Any person riding a personal watercraft must wear a life jacket.
  • Any person riding any towed craft must wear a life jacket.
  • Vessels less than 16 feet in length ("Class A") must have one life jacket onboard for each passenger.
  • Vessels 16 feet or longer must also have a one Type IV (throwable) flotation aid onboard.
  • Passengers under 13 years of age must wear a life jacket whenever any vessel is underway.

Ages that must wear a life jacket at all times: Age 12 and under.

Exceptions: When the vessel is anchored or moored.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, Types I, II, III, or V.

Utah

  • All vessels must have one life jacket onboard for each passenger.
  • Anyone riding a towed watercraft must wear a life jacket.
  • Any boat 16 feet or longer (except canoes and kayaks) must have one Type IV (throwable) flotation aid onboard.
  • Standup paddleboard, kayak, and canoe riders must wear a life jacket.
  • Children age 12 and under must wear a life jacket at all times.

Ages that must wear a life jacket at all times: Age 12 and under.

Exceptions: When inside the enclosed cabin of a boat that is 19 feet or longer.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, Types I, II, III, or V.

Vermont

 According to the Vermont Department of Public Safety, Marine Division:

  • All vessels must have one life jacket onboard for each passenger.
  • Children under the age of 12 must wear a life jacket at all times.
  • Children under the age of 16 must wear a life jacket at all times when on a sailboard.

Ages that must wear a life jacket at all times: Age 12 and under.

Exceptions: None.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, Types I, II, or III.

Virginia

According to the Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources:

  •  All vessels must have one life jacket onboard for each passenger.
  • All canoe, kayak, and standup paddleboard riders must wear a life jacket.
  • Boats 16 feet or longer must also have one Type IV (throwable) flotation aid onboard.
  • Inflatable life jackets are only approved for persons 16 age or older.
  • All children under age 13 must wear a life jacket at all times.

Ages that must wear a life jacket at all times: Age 12 and under.

Exceptions: When in an enclosed cabin or below deck.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, types not specified.

Washington

 According to the Washington State Parks Department:

  • All vessels, including canoes, kayaks, and paddleboards, must have one life jacket onboard for each passenger.
  • Each person onboard a personal watercraft must wear a life jacket.
  • Any person riding a towed watercraft must wear a life jacket.
  • All vessels 16 feet or longer must have one Type IV (throwable) flotation aid onboard.
  • Children age 12 and under must wear a life jacket at all times when a vessel less than 19 feet in length is underway.

Ages that must wear a life jacket at all times: Age 12 and under.

Exceptions: When in an enclosed cabin or below deck.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, types not specified.

Wisconsin

 According to the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources:

  • All vessels, including canoes, kayaks, and paddleboards, must have one life jacket onboard for each passenger.
  • All vessels 16 feet or longer must have one Type IV (throwable) flotation aid onboard.
  • Each person onboard a personal watercraft must wear a life jacket.
  • Children age 12 and under must wear a life jacket at all times when a vessel is underway.

Ages that must wear a life jacket at all times: Age 12 and under.

Exceptions: When riding a sailboard or windsurf board, or when in a cabin or below deck.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, types not specified.

Wyoming

 According to the Wyoming Game & Fish Department:

  • All boats must have one life jacket onboard for each passenger.
  • Anyone riding a towed watercraft or personal watercraft must wear a life jacket.
  • All vessels 16 feet or longer must have one Type IV (throwable) flotation aid onboard.
  • Children age 12 and under must wear a life jacket at all times when a vessel is underway.

Ages that must wear a life jacket at all times: Age 12 and under.

Exceptions: When in an enclosed cabin or below deck.

Approved life jackets: USCG-Approved, types not specified.